Texas Car Insurance Requirements

Texas Automobile Insurance Guide

Automobile insurance protects you financially by paying for the other driver’s car repair and medical bills if you are responsible for the accident. Depending on the coverage you have, it will also pay for repairs or to replace your car if it is damaged or stolen. Texas has a Consumer Bill of Rights for auto insurance. You can obtain a copy of the bill of rights when you get or renew a policy with your insurance company.

Texas law requires the driver to show proof that they can pay for the accident that they have caused. Most of the drivers can do this by buying auto liability insurance. Liability insurance pays to replace or repair the other driver’s car, or other damaged property, and pays for the medical expenses when you are at fault in an accident.

Comprehensive and Collision Coverage:

If you want to make sure you’re taken care of following an accident, you will want to add comprehensive and collision coverage to your Texas auto insurance policy. This type of coverage is highly recommended because it will protect your property in the case of a collision, theft, fire, vandalism or damaged windshield. The repair and replacement costs for your damaged property, as well as any rental car bills resulting from the incident, will be covered for the cost of the deductible. If you want to lower your monthly payments, just choose a higher deductible. We offer flexible choices like this, so you can get the policy that’s right for you.

Uninsured Motorist Coverage:

There’s no telling whether the other drivers around you on the road are insured, or whether the insurance they have is adequate to cover your medical bills and property damage if they collide with your vehicle. This is why drivers are advised to add uninsured motorist coverage to their policies. It may not be required in this state, but it is well worth the money for the protection it provides.

State Requirements:

Texas drivers are required by law to have bodily injury liability insurance of $30,000 per involved party and $60,000 per incident, and property damage liability coverage of at least $25,000 per incident.

Basic Liability Coverage:

All drivers in this state are required to carry Texas auto insurance with basic liability coverage. This minimum level of insurance will cover the other vehicle, any property inside, its driver and any passengers driving with them if you are at fault for an accident. The minimum coverage is often insufficient, though, so many drivers choose additional coverage.

Saved Vehicles

SAVED VEHICLES

You don't have any saved vehicles!

Look for this link on your favorites:

Save

Once you've saved some vehicles, you can view them here at any time.

Contact Us

(469) 537-7152

Call Now

5555 Lemmon Avenue • Dallas, TX 75209

Get Directions

Today's Hours:

Open Today! Sales: 9am-9pm

Open Today! Service: 7am-7pm

Open Today! Parts: 7am-7pm

Clay Cooley Volkswagen of Park Cities 32.827996, -96.825271.